The Scaffold

The Scaffold perform on BBC TV.The Scaffold consisted of Roger McGough, Mike McGear (Mike McCartney, brother of the ex-Beatle Paul McCartney) and John Gorman.

The three members were brought together through a shared love of music, poetry and comedy and proceeded to write and compose original material often parodying elements of real life whilst covering some of their favourite Liverpool songs.

Lily the Pink

The band was initially signed to EMI and enjoyed notable chart success on the subsidiary label Parlophone in their 1960’s heyday with songs such as Lily the Pink (#1) and Thank U Very Much (#4).

However as the band were not musicians first, session artists needed to be brought in to supplement the group.

Such luminaries as Graham Nash (Hollies, Crosby, Stills and Nash), Elton John and Jack Bruce (Cream) were brought in to supplement the vocals of McGough, McGear and Gorman, and with the various session musicians they employed, the band completed four albums featuring songs generally composed by McGear, reciting of McGough’s poetry and performances of Gorman’s comedy.

The first, the self titled The Scaffold, appeared in 1968 whilst L the P was released again on the Parlophone label in 1969.

In 1970 the band featured in their own television series made for children called “Score With The Scaffold” and in 1972 made a 30 minute musical production for television called Plod.

The musical was filmed on location in Liverpool and displayed the bands diversity.

The groups EMI contract ended in 1973 and the trio signed with Island Records where their first release Liverpool Lou reached #7 in the UK singles charts.

The album Fresh Liver was also released in 1973 but the band were soon parting ways with Island and joining up with fellow creatives including Neil Innes (Monty Python, The Rutles) and Adrian Henri (The Liverpool Scene, The Mersey Sound).

New Band, New Members

This new band had numerous members (even featuring Keith Moon on drums at one performance) and derived its name from the first letter of the surnames of its original members Gorman – Roberts – Innes – McGough – McGear – Stanshall spelling GRIMMS.

The Grimms were a group made up of, at one point, ten members and released three albums together between 1973 and 1976.

The Grimms’ second album Rockin’ Duck received warm critical praise but the band failed to capitalise on this as a conflict between Mike McGear and Brian Patten (in which Patten punched McGear) and resulted in McGear leaving the group.

Bronze records label

In 1976 the band reformed on the Bronze records label to tour and did so for the next two years before splitting in 1977.

The band have since reformed for one-off gigs and appearances and contributed a track for Liverpool – The Number Ones Album, celebrating the cities musical heritage in its European Capital of Culture year.